Back from Minnesota

Let me set the stage for you. I wake up Thursday morning 7/26 with my back killing me, the sideways lean going on and know I am in trouble. We are traveling that day to Minnesota to visit Wendy’s family. So we pack up the car and get to the airport where all the long term parking is full, so off we go to the overflow lot. We get to the terminal, go through security, board the plane and get all the way to Minneapolis/St Paul airspace where a thunderstorm has closed the airport. The pilot comes over the intercom and says “well folks we can’t stay here because we are running low on fuel” Understatement of the year from where I am sitting. So we fly into Rochester, MN and refuel. Remember my back is killing me, by the time we get to Minneapolis I have been sitting in the same position on this airplane for almost 5 hours. I can barely get off the airplane. You are thinking that things are going to get better right? Well, we rent a car and drive 2 1/2 hours to Wendy’s sister’s house and again I can barely get out of the car. Friday morning we get up and drive another 2 1/2 hours(can you see the pattern?) to the campsite, yes that’s right, camping for the weekend which means sleeping on an air mattress on the ground in a tent and sitting in portable chairs or on picnic tables for the weekend. So I get back on Monday(after two days of 2 1/2 hour drives again) night and call my chiropractor first thing Tuesday to try to get in. He is booked Tuesday and off on Wednesday’s. I might actually give Dr Bill a big kiss when I see him Thursday afternoon(that is as long as he gets me adjusted!)

Seriously, we had a great time and it was wonderful to see Wendy’s family. Especially her nephew Cory who just returned from an 18 month tour in Iraq. The boys enjoyed camping, Brandon kept saying “What’s next?” Fishing, swimming in the lake, taking a walk, S’mores on the campfire,etc They didn’t exactly care for trout fishing from the boat on the lake because there wasn’t the same action as the pier fishing for sunfish. I could barely keep up with baiting their hooks. We learned a new game called “Washers” which was fun to play. All in all well worth the trip!!!!

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
