What is normal?

I had a conversation with a friend at work today that really encouraged me and he probably didn’t even know it. He asked how I was doing and I answered with my usual “I’m here.”

But then I realized that I am more than just here, I am having a great week and I learn more about myself and how fortunate I am almost every day. I have a wonderful wife, two beautiful boys and a dog(who thinks he is a cat as you can tell by the picture).
He encouraged me by just acknowledging the fact that my family goes through alot more than other families(or do we?) on a daily basis and validated for me that it is OK for me to have bad days. I think I try to put on this front that everything is “just peachy” all the time when it really sucks sometimes, and I realized today that it is OK when I am having a bad day to have a bad day.
Normal to me is alot different than normal is to virtually everyone I know, but it’s still normal to me and I wouldn’t have it any other way.
By the way, I am disappointed in all my friends and family out there who can see the bald spot on the back of my head and have never mentioned it to me. When I started to become bald I will never know, oh well……..

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “What is normal?
  1. Ruth Hawkins says:

    You started to go bald the day you were born. I know, I was there and you did not have one strand of hair. Your mother

  2. L. says:

    You’re not bald. You are just “folically-challenged.”Laurel

  3. The Hawkins Family says:

    Very funny, both of you.

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
