Crying in the car today

Twice today, I was brought to tears in my car for entirely different reasons.

Brandon and I were coming home from church, Wendy was sick and Jeremy being a momma’s boy stayed home with her, when I asked Brandon what he wanted for lunch. He thought for a moment and said “Fresh squeezed Orange Juice.” This was out of the ordinary for him so I asked him why.

“I want to eat nutritious. Do you remember when I was smart daddy? If I eat nutritious maybe the Batten Disease will stop killing my brain cells and I will be smart again.” Excuse me while I turn off the faucet…….

Later on today I took Brandon and Jeremy with me to softball practice where they were great. We stopped and had Dairy Queen on the way home and were almost back to the house when Sister Sledge “We are Family” comes on the radio. One of their favorites. So here are the three of us rolling down the road singing “We are Family, I got all my sisters and me” when Jeremy screams “C’mon EVERYBODY, SING IT” Brandon sings “take it away my brother….” and Jeremy, in perfect time I might add does a drum roll and an “OH YEAAAAAH” I really thought I was going to wet my pants. What a way to end a beautiful weekend in Charlotte.

My friend Baron and his father in law Gary spent the night here last night on their way to a hunting trip in SC. It was good to see them again, Baron took a great picture of the boys.

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
