Tears at the altar

Sunday in church we brought the boys into the service with us because they have been having trouble finding the right sunday school class. We ended up sitting separately because Jeremy had a mini melt down in the parking lot so I stayed with him and Wendy took Brandon.  Jeremy and I sat next to the ushers in the back of the church and after the service Charlie introduced himself to us, he had noticed Jeremy’s cane.   Charlie has Leber’s, a genetic disorder which causes central vision loss similar to what the boys experience.  He wanted to let us know that he would be praying for us.  When we met up with Wendy and Brandon afterwards she pulled me aside to tell me about going up to the altar to pray.   Brandon is a sensitive young man and as much as he is silly much of the time, he understands more than he lets on a lot of the time.  When they went up to the altar to pray she noticed that there were tears dripping onto his sleeves while he was praying.  Another moment in time that no child should ever have to endure.   Damn, I hate Batten Disease.

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Tears at the altar
  1. I am a perfect stranger, I know. Through out my life time He has led me to pray for those I often do not know by name. Even in the middle of the night I receive la nudge to get up and pray. Individuals will come to mind (sometimes strangers), specific needs like illnesses, dangers, even salvation. I will pray until I have peace then I will go back to sleep.

    By chance, I came across your blog. I am impressed to tell you that you are not alone. Even out of your frustration, as you draw near to God you will receive the peace that goes way beyond human understanding. We all cry out “why?” at times. I can tell you that He has not left you and others will be prompted to pray, encourage and offer comfort.

    “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”
    — 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

    Ken & Maggie
    “Going before God on behalf of others”

    • chawk328 says:

      Thank you both, I appreciate the encouragement. Sometimes I need that and other times I can give it. Tonight was one of those nights that I was in need. God always seems to place someone or do something at just the right times in my life these days. I am so blessed.

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
