Back to my “real” job

Friday I returned back to work at Wachovia, I am very grateful to our parent company Wells Fargo for allowing me to spend 70 days volunteering for the BDSRA.  I accomplished alot in the time I spent dedicated to BDSRA but feel like it is never enough.  Several grants have been written and many more identified that we missed the deadline for 2010 so they will have to wait until next year, but it could be a significant source of funds for much needed programs.  I did not make as many phone calls as I expected or would have liked, but circumstances forced my hand into a different direction.  I was able to make some contacts here locally that may work into longer term fundraising opportunities and have started working on a unique Batten Awareness Weekend event for next June that is going to be really fun.  I am the chair of the Chapter Development committee and have worked quite a bit on communications, by laws and policy and procedure.  Overall, a wonderful, wonderful  experience.  I am so blessed…..

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Back to my “real” job
  1. Adina Ryan says:

    Chris,

    Just FYI…I am so blessed too…to have had the opportunity to work with you side by side (even if it was states away from one another) for the last 4 months. You have made a tremendous difference and your time came at very critical moments for BDSRA with the loss of Amy. Thank you…thank Wachovia…and tell them I need you again. 🙂 I will be lost without having you here knowing you are working on projects that I never get the time to do. Please let me know how to express my thanks to Wachovia….a letter for certain, also to Wendy and the kids for letting you dedicate so much time to us over the past few months. I look forward to seeing you at conference. By the way…we got the flip phone today…Eric and I are in heaven. I am going to play with it this weekend at the Oggie Open to get practice for conference.

    I am going to send you a GIK letter for the donation, but need you to give me an estimated value. I am assuming $250 with the accessories.

    Have a great Monday.

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
