Special Olympics Spring Games 2012 part 2

Wow.  I am sure that there are marathon runners out there that don’t feel as emotionally drained as I do after two days of Special Olympics.  Today was a doozy.  I happened to be at Jeremy’s school this morning signing some IEP paperwork, all my special needs peeps can relate, and witnessed the traditional WR Odell parade of Special Olympics athletes.  All the classrooms stood in the hallway and cheered as the athletes walked by.  I was tearing up and was glad to notice other adults doing the same.  You know who you are, I won’t call you out by name.   That is what I LOVE about WR Odell students and staff!  Then I had to go out and watch Jeremy proudly march in to introductions of all the schools.  He was very nervous and it showed on his face several times during the day, but I was very proud of him that even when he got third place he didn’t go into melt down mode which has happened in the past.  He also earned two gold medals for his 25m run and 50m fast walk.  He had a great day!!!! Special thank you goes out to all the volunteers, sponsors and Emily Riley and her staff that made these two days possible, they are and always will be special and are two of my favorite days of the year!  Big props to Austin and the boys from Faith Christian Academy who worked with Brandon yesterday and Mark from Central Cabarrus High who worked with Jeremy today.  Thank you to Mrs Singh, Mrs. Bunn and Mr. Ian who was playing in pain today, it’s tough getting old.  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About

I am married to Wendy and dad to two boys Brandon and Jeremy with Juvenile Batten Disease, a fatal neurodegenerative childhood disorder. I am also active with the Batten Disease Support and Research Association.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Previous Posts
